Music download forum - Your music community: The Street Musicians/Buskers Information Exchange - Music download forum - Your music community

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The Street Musicians/Buskers Information Exchange

#1 User is offline   Bonder

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 12 October 2012 - 01:39 PM

I am a street musician and have played and paid my way from NY to EU. This is my life and how I make my living...

Anyone who works the streets knows how rewarding it can be in so many different ways. Just as well, buskers know the pitfalls associated with this ancient profession, such as getting moved on by police and such.

So I wanted to start this topic so that we buskers can share information and updates about the cities we are playing in, so as to keep each other informed about the reception that we expect to receive from city to city..

So here are some reviews of the cities I have played in:

1. New York - a bad city to busk in for the most part. The only real place worth playing is times square, where a lot of money can be made in a matter of minutes...However, you need a permit, which are no longer being issued last i checked because there are too many..

if you decide to be a rebel and take your chances, private security guards who work for the so called times square alliance will be quick to move you on once they see you..

and if the police get to you first, they will move you on without question...

Penn Station is a decent place to busk because there are a lot of tourists and out of towners who pass through there...At rush hour when it gets really busy, chances are you will get moved on for impeding traffic..but otherwise, its a great pitch...

On average, New Yorkers are pretty blase about street performers so unless you are in a tourist infested place, you will be hard pressed to make money...